PRF Commission

The Parks, Recreation and Forestry Commission consists of seven members:  one Alderperson, the superintendent of the Sun Prairie Area School District or the Superintendent’s designee, and five (5) citizens of recognized experience and qualifications.  The Director of Parks, Recreation & Forestry shall be an ex-officio non-voting member of the Commission.

Duties of the Parks, Recreation & Forestry Commission
The Commission has all the powers conferred by law upon park, recreation and in cities of the fourth class and is charged with the duties of making recommendations, overseeing work and overseeing funds relating to all parks, playgrounds, and recreational activities as part of properties within the city.

The Parks, Recreation and Forestry Commission determines the recreational needs of the public, and has jurisdiction over the public recreation program of the City.

Click here to read the full description of the Parks, Recreation and Forestry Commission in Chapter 2.48 of the Sun Prairie Municipal Code of Ordinances.

Meeting Schedule
The Parks, Recreation and Forestry Commission meets monthly at the discretion of the Commission Chairperson, which is normally scheduled for the second Wednesday of the month at 4:30 p.m. at City Hall in Council Chambers (second floor). At this time, all meetings are hybrid and members of the public are asked to join virtually.

Meeting agendas and minutes are posted on the city website, located here.

Commission Members

Name  Position Term Expires

Barb Bailey

 Member  2024

Janice Chestnut

 Member  2025

Kristin Grissom

 Ex-Officio Member  

Bob Jokisch

 Member/City Council Liaison  2022

Samantha Martylewski

 Member  2022

Kristen Newell

 Member/Vice Chair  2022

Kate Piela

 Member/Chair  2024

Janet Rosseter

 Member/School District Liaison  2022